Guest Reviews


Over recent years we have had the pleasure of welcoming guests from all over the world. Here are their comments from our guest books.

We have just returned from two fabulous weeks at Maison Pyron, in picturesque south-west France. The villa is spacious and well equipped, the pool is one of the best I have come across and there are numerous games to play in the grounds for kids, teenagers and adults alike. There are eight sun loungers and a couple of hammocks, and lots of shade when required. The area around has lots of pretty villages, a great area for walking (there are well planned route maps in the villa), and a couple of great lakes with beaches and restaurants. The one at Orthez has a huge Aquazone Wipeout, a kind of inflatable assault course – challenging for even the fittest teenagers! Bea & Derek were great hosts, quietly in the background, but available when help or recommendations were needed. Sean & Katherine Doyle (August 2018)


Beautiful ! 4 étudiants à la recherche d'un lieu pour se reposer. Nous pouvons dire que nous avons trouvé l'endroit rêvé ! Merci mille fois, nous avons passé un séjour génial ! A trés vite. Martin, Clémentine, Margaux & Héléne (mai 2018)


Nous vous remercions pour votre chaleureux accueil. Tout a été parfait. Notre fils s/est amousé avec la plupart des jouets et de la piscine mis à disposition. Il a même découvert un chemin secret au fond de votre jardin qui méne jusqu'à ce qu'il appelle "le passage des dinosaures" car la nature s'y exprime naturellement. Bravo pour le bel ouvrage en bois de votre demeure. Bien cordialement, Florence, Christophe & Florian (Vichy, mai 2018)


Un très agréable séjour dans cette magnifique propriété où se fait bon vivre. Dommage que le temps ne nous ait pas parmi de profiter pleinement des lieux. Nous reviendrons pour y remédier. A bientôt, Les parisiens (avril 2018)


Great Place! Great Stay! Mention spéciale pour la table de ping-ping et le jeu de fléchettes (de la part d'Elliot - 7 ans) et la piscine :) Julian, Anna Gaelle et Elliot (Nantes, avril 2018)


Cadre super sympa, un accueil magnifique ! Merci pour tout. Lio, Slin et Lio (avril 2018)


Séjour très agréable, Super moment. Merci François (janvier 2018)


We stayed at Maison Pyron for two weeks during August 2017 as a group of fourteen with two grandparents, four children and their partners and four grandchildren - age range 4 to 67!

What a fantastic holiday we had! We had booked both Maison Pyron and Le Grenier for our large group and the property far exceeded our expectations. There is so much space here, both indoors and outdoors, with plenty of room for a group of our size. We never felt on top of each other or crowded; the living accommodation in Maison Pyron was much bigger than expected (although we didn’t use the lounge areas very much due to such fantastic weather) and the bedrooms also much larger than we’d appreciated from looking at the photos online. The two couples in our group who stayed in Le Grenier were really impressed with the modern refurbishment (especially the bathroom) and loved having their own lounge area and kitchen. It can be quite hard to find somewhere to sleep as many people as in a large group like ours so we know to find somewhere like Maison Pyron is really quite rare; on top of that there are various sleeping options depending on who wants to sleep where (for example all four of the grandchildren on our trip wanted to share one room so Bea and Derek put two extra beds into the large back bedroom – which is so big that there was still lots of room to spare!)

A huge thank you to Bea and Derek for being such excellent hosts! From our first contact to enquire about the property through to booking, arrival, during our stay and then day of departure they could not have been more friendly, helpful and informative. Bea made the booking process so simple and straightforward; she answered any questions, kept in touch on email, sent on other helpful information/directions. There was a lovely welcome pack awaiting us on arrival with croissants, homemade jam, milk, butter and other helpful essentials. They are both really knowledgeable about the area and were able to offer helpful hints and tips on where to visit and what was happening when and where (they’ve also put together a great information folder for each property). They’ve done a wonderful job in beautifully refurbishing Maison Pyron and Le Grenier and make sure everything is kept to a high standard; both houses were spotlessly clean when we arrived and thank you to Derek who regularly cleaned the pool and outdoor area during our stay. They looked after us so well without ever being intrusive.

It would be easy to never leave the pool but we did venture out on various trips. A few below that we’d recommend:

Hagetmau – little town less than 10 minutes away, nice for a wander and a coffee at one a few small cafes. Little park for children to enjoy. Lovely cake shop called Oh! Mon Gateau. A couple of very handy supermarkets on the outskirts. Nice ice cream at the café at Intermarche! We also had dinner at Pizzeria Amalfi one night – delicious pizza and very family friendly.

Mont de Marsan – a larger town, really enjoyed visiting here, good Saturday food market with lots of fresh produce. Also a big shopping centre complex on the outskirts (sports shops, toy shops, huge supermarket, interior shops etc)

Grottes de Betharam – 1 ½ hour drive away but well worth it. The visit includes a really interesting tour of the caves and an underground boat and train ride which everyone in our group really enjoyed. We stopped off in Pau on the way back

Pau – quite a large city, enjoyed wandering round here, visited the cathedral, had a ride on the carousel – lots of shops and places to stop for a drink/something to eat

Dax – larger town, pretty and nice to wander round

St Sever – very pretty little place, had a pleasant wander round the Cathedral and cloisters. Very friendly/helpful in the Office Du Tourisme

St Jean De Luz – we stopped off here in our way back to Santander, gorgeous seaside town and wished we’d had chance to spend longer here

Capbreton – about an hour or so away, coastal resort, absolutely lovely! Gorgeous beaches

Bayonne – about an hour and fifteen minutes away, lovely city, lots to see, very pretty, excellent macaroon shop!

The mountains are also only about an hour and a half away – various locations and stunning scenery.

We’ve been on a number of large group family holidays over the years and all agreed that this is the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. There just aren’t any compromises! More than enough room for everyone, extremely well equipped and well furnished, ideal quiet location but shops less than 10 minutes away, spacious gardens, ideal outdoor dining space for a large group, more than ample parking (space for five cars and totally secure) and, possibly the highlight for our group, an absolutely fantastic pool and games area that had more than enough sun loungers, hammocks and inflatables for us all. We also enjoyed many games of table tennis and darts!

The resounding and unanimous verdict from every member of our group is that we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Maison Pyron as a holiday destination. We tend not to stay in the same place twice, but for this house we may just make an exception… Liz on behalf of the Gow, Plant, Howlett & Goodall family staying at Maison Pyron & Le Grenier, August 2017


We have had a fabulous week at Le Grenier. Bea and Derek are such wonderful hosts with a great welcome. We have so enjoyed the pool and table tennis set in beautiful countryside. We ventured up to Bordeaux which is such a beautiful city and a great contrast to the rest of the week enjoying the countryside and the pool. Thank you for a great week. We hope to come back again next year. Sinead, Tim, Ella & William, September 2017


Had a lovely relaxing stay here in the lovely bakehouse! Really enjoyed the beautifully kept grounds and the fantastic pool. Bea & Derek - thanks so much for being so welcoming and friendly & also giving us space to just be. Wishing you all the best for your happy 'project'. Catherine & Mariam, September 2017


Très bon séjour passé dans votre maison. La cuisine est équippée come il faut pour y séjourner plusieurs jours. Les extérieurs sont très appreciables avec le jardin et la pisine. Je recommanderai votre location sans hésiter. J'adore ce endroit, merci beaucoup! Nous reviendrons. Adeline & Louise, août 2017


Have spent a wonderful two weeks at Le Grenier. The weather, the surroundings, the food and wine, and the hospitality of Bea and Derek have all been wonderful. We would recommend trips to Bayonne, to the Cave de Jurancon at Gan, Plaimont wines at St Mont and dinner at l'Auberge du Laurier in St-Cricq-Chalosse. Thank you for the fabulous time Bea & Derek - you have created a truly lovely relaxing place - we hope to come back! Sarah, Matt, Bertie and Charlotte (part of the wider group staying in Maison Pyron & Le Grenier), August 2017


Thank you for our stay here. It is a wonderful place to stay and has been a relaxing place. The temperature got up to 39°C, which was very hot. Thank you. Clare, John, Alex and Oliver, July 2017


Glorious weather & a great week - thank goodness for the pool! The house is perfect for our stay & the toys & shaded areas make the pool great for the children. Thank you for a lovely week. Catherine, Eamonn, Tom & Joe, June 2017


Parfait, le mot est faible... Nous avons passé un excellent petit week-end en famille mais c'était trop courte. Merci à vous deux Bea et Derek pour votre présence discrète et votre bienveillance. Nous allons améliorer notre anglais et nous sommes ravis d'être passés chez vous. En espérant revenir un jour mais plus long cette fois-ci. We have really enjoyed our stay especially the pool, hospitailty, table tennis, hammocks, darts... Thanks a lot. Jade, Natha, Carmen & Sébastien, mai 2017


Excellent (mais trop courte!) séjour pour notre petite famille. Merci Bea et Derek, nous reviendrons ici avec plaisir. PS Lapins en chocolat, oeufs, confiture de pêches... merci de nous avoir tant gâtés! Greg, Virginie, Elise et Pauline, April 2017


We have had just a wonderful week in Maison Pyron - everything is so beautiful and perfect - the house, the garden, the pool and the hosts. A trip to Biarritz was well worth the drive - just to wander around the town and then along the beach. We went with Derek & Bea for a trip to Le Petit Train de la Rhune, up into the Pyrenees with views of the coast and mountains, really wonderful. Ate out twice at Amalfi in Hagetmau and although very plain outside, great pizza and veal, they even made a 'petit' pizza for me as I have a small appetite. Went to Auberge in Aubagnon for set lunch - quite an experience but well worth it - you just eat what is served plus wine for 13€!! Perfect holiday. Lin & Grahame, September 2016


La semaine est déjà finie!! Nous aimerions encore profiter de votre magnifique piscine et voir comment vous allez continuer d'aménager ce grand jardin. Annie et Eric, September 2016


Dear Bea & Derek, Thank-you for allowing us to use your beautiful home. We have had a very relaxing 2 weeks exploring the area and chilling around the pool. The grounds and all the little touches are fabulous. We look forward to coming back and seeing the future restoration work. We go home relaxed with lots of wonderful memories. Theresa, Fraser and Joe Brown xxx July 2016 PS Thanks for all your help, advice and the gorgeous cheese you shared with us.


What can we say? What a wonderful home you have here and what a wonderful time we have all had. I have never felt so comfortable and 'at home' as I have here and it's all down to all the personal touches. The house itself is amazing, so homely and warm and the grounds and pool are perfect, relaxing and peaceful. We have been here for 2 weeks and it wouldn't have bothered me in the slightest if I had never left the grounds! Thank-you for everything, you're both such amazing hosts and we will definitely be seeing you next year! Mark, Michelle & Mia Latham x July 2016


We had a great time at Maison Pyron! Family Vignaux & Family David Ik vond het heel leuk! Groeten Meriam, July 2016


Une maison charmante et confortable (où rien ne manque!), un jardin fabuleux entretenu avec soin, une piscine agréable, quel cocktail délicieux! Merci pour votre accueil chaleureux. Nous avons passé un séjour très agréable à Pyron. Famille Bracq, July 2016


Nous avons passé 2 très agréables semaines dans vore charmante propriété où rien ne manquait! C'`était très bien appréciable...! Merci pour bvotre accueil et votre présence discrète. Bravo pour votre travail dans l'entretien de cette belle propriété! Peut-être à une prochaine fois lors d'un séjour en Chalosse... Famille Bridel et Famille Bracq, July 2016


Thank-you Bea & Derek, a delightful home for a week and such friendly hosts. We enjoyed a day trip to San Sebastian (just under 2 hours) - beware it's a very long hot walk to the top of the castle and statue. Had a very interesting walk in Sainte-Colombe - go up through the village and bear left down the lanes towards the forest - it's another world out there! Neil, Greg & Ana, July 2016


What a wonderful space to spend our family summer break. Everything was perfect from the warm greeting on arrival onwards. There is nothing more we could have asked for. We would highly recommend spending time at the lake at St Pierre du Mont if you have a young family. It's only 20 minutes away and is just one of the fantastic local facilities. A perfect and immaculate home in a wonderful setting. Thank-you Bea & Derek for a beautiful holiday. Gareth, Anna & Evan, June 2016


Our family of 4 had a wonderful time spending it here over the Christmas week! All the necessary comforts of home were easily accessible in the Grenier and the kids enjoyed having their own space and the pool / games facilities immensely! Not to mention the speedy wifi! We would love again to visit in the summer and our stay really couldn't have been bettered! The perfect modern idyll to explore the areas and visit family. We will be back!

The Merukh Family from Sydney & Jakarta, December 2015


Kieran & I spent a comfortable, happy time living for six weeks in your lovely house. Exploring the area was a welcome distraction from being closeted away writing my book. Saint Sever & Hagetmau are nice little places to have coffee / drink and people watch. Pau and Mont de Marsan were interesting towns to visit and see the ancient architecture and enjoy views towards the Pyrenees. We loved our 2 day trip to San Sebastian and the coastal villages. Watching the surfers on the gorgeous beaches was spectacular. Visiting Biarritz on the way back was a must - very smart place and super promenade.

Loved our train ride on Le Petit Rhune and the trek back down! Aching calves and knees the next day but well worth it for the amazing views and the whole experience. Brandy & coffees!! Our shared meals were fun and full of laughter so thanks for those. We've had a wonderful sojourn here and intend to return.

Love Venita & Kieran, October 2015


I would like to say a big thank-you for such a warm welcome to us in your lovely home. The house was wonderful and it has such a peaceful atmosphere which allowed you to forget the everyday stresses and relax and unwind. There was everything we needed to make the holiday glide along smoothly and being situated in a great part of France there was so much to offer. The pool barn was a good place to get some shade on warmer days and a ping pong tournament soon began. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring Saint Sever with the aid of the iPad loaned from the tourist information office and at only 5 euros - what a bargain, I would recommend it..!!

Canyoning in the Pyrenees (Laruns) with Laurent from Experience Canyoning ensured we had a fun packed four hours with abseiling, plunge pools and a trip down a water slide made for great memories. Kayaking in Saint Sever (from sports complex) was another good way to spend an afternoon. Cedric and his team made sure we were all well equipped / briefed and we all had great fun. Go karting near Pau was a lovely way to spend an evening followed by a tasty steak dinner at La Boucherie (slightly more upmarket Buffalo Grill) which also has a branch situated in Mont de Marsan, great for children of all ages. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. Once again merci beaucoup Bea & Derek!!

Ann-Marie, Owen & Luke Ingram, September 2015


Thanks for 'hosting' us for these last 2 weeks. Despite the odd rain shower, have had a lovely time, especially the swimming and cycling! Great time at the local fete too! Hope to be back in future.

Stephen, Vikki & the Kelly clan, August 2015


Just one more time to thank you for a lovely holiday. As mentioned on Facebook: great place, great pool, great people! All the best and looking forward to meeting you again! We all take lovely pictures and memories back to Holland.

Manon, Pablo & kids, July 2015


We had a wonderful time! Everything was perfect, our 2 daughters (4 and 8 years old) really loved it, especially the pool and the hammock :)! They definitely want to come back next year! We liked the spacious garden and want to thank you for your hospitality. Good luck.

Marc, Ingrid, Milou & Britt, July 2015


Thank-you for such a lovely week. We've all so enjoyed staying in your lovely home. We've found so much to do in the area, which is stunning. See you again sometime.

Louise, Shane & family, July 2014


We had a great time at Maison Pyron. We enjoyed playing ping-pong, petanque and last but not least swimming in the pool! We've been visiting some nice places / hiking trips.

* Les Gorges de Kakuetta, Saint-Engrâce (2 hours driving)

* La Passerelle en bois, Holzarté (2 hours driving)

* Le Seniter du Baigura, D119 between Louhossoa and Hélette (1.5 hours driving)

* Le Sentier du Pasaia and San Seastin (2 hours driving)

We take a lot of nice memories with us!

Wim, Ilse, Arue, Lena & Emma, August 2014


Thank you so much! We've had a great holiday in your lovely big house. A lot of wonderful memories were created: the big beds, the games on the floor, playing hide-and-seek. the good times at the pool... We've loved it all!

Anneleen, Bart, Lieselot and Max, July 2014


Dear Bea & Derek, Thank-you so much for your warm welcome. We have so enjoyed staying in your beautiful home. The driveway provided a perfect location for the annual family Boule Championshps and the kids loved the pool. This is a fabulous house for a large group. Excellent house information manual and everything we needed was here. I'll be leaving a glowing review on Trip Advisor! Many thanks from the Transcontinental Soloman / Ward holiday catchup!

Sarah, Matt, Phoebe & Ruby (Australia), August 2013


Nous avons passé une très bonne semaine dans votre charmante maison. Les filles ont beaucoup apprecié la piscine (et les cailloux!). En esperant vous revoir!

Hélène, Fréderic, Elwyna et Lisenn, August 2013


Thank-you Bea & Derek for allowing us to stay in your lovely home. We all loved it. Also your kindness on our last evening was wonderful. We really enjoyed your company. Hope you both have a great life here. I am certain that you will. Many thanks again from

Joe, Helen, Sharon, Joseph & Travis x (Your first visitors, Scottish of course), July 2013