Guest Reviews

Over recent years we have had the pleasure of welcoming guests from all over the world. Here are their comments from our guest books.

Parfait, le mot est faible... Nous avons passé un excellent petit week-end en famille mais c'était trop courte. Merci à vous deux Bea et Derek pour votre présence discrète et votre bienveillance. Nous allons améliorer notre anglais et nous sommes ravis d'être passés chez vous. En espérant revenir un jour mais plus long cette fois-ci. We have really enjoyed our stay especially the pool, hospitailty, table tennis, hammocks, darts... Thanks a lot.
Jade, Natha, Carmen & Sébastien, mai 2017

Excellent (mais trop courte!) séjour pour notre petite famille. Merci Bea et Derek, nous reviendrons ici avec plaisir. PS Lapins en chocolat, oeufs, confiture de pêches... merci de nous avoir tant gâtés!
Greg, Virginie, Elise et Pauline, April 2017

We have had just a wonderful week in Maison Pyron - everything is so beautiful and perfect - the house, the garden, the pool and the hosts. A trip to Biarritz was well worth the drive - just to wander around the town and then along the beach. We went with Derek & Bea for a trip to Le Petit Train de la Rhune, up into the Pyrenees with views of the coast and mountains, really wonderful. Ate out twice at Amalfi in Hagetmau and although very plain outside, great pizza and veal, they even made a 'petit' pizza for me as I have a small appetite. Went to Auberge in Aubagnon for set lunch - quite an experience but well worth it - you just eat what is served plus wine for 13€!! Perfect holiday.
Lin & Grahame, September 2016

La semaine est déjà finie!! Nous aimerions encore profiter de votre magnifique piscine et voir comment vous allez continuer d'aménager ce grand jardin.
Annie et Eric, September 2016

Dear Bea & Derek, Thank-you for allowing us to use your beautiful home. We have had a very relaxing 2 weeks exploring the area and chilling around the pool. The grounds and all the little touches are fabulous. We look forward to coming back and seeing the future restoration work. We go home relaxed with lots of wonderful memories.
Theresa, Fraser and Joe Brown xxx July 2016
PS Thanks for all your help, advice and the gorgeous cheese you shared with us.

What can we say? What a wonderful home you have here and what a wonderful time we have all had. I have never felt so comfortable and 'at home' as I have here and it's all down to all the personal touches. The house itself is amazing, so homely and warm and the grounds and pool are perfect, relaxing and peaceful. We have been here for 2 weeks and it wouldn't have bothered me in the slightest if I had never left the grounds! Thank-you for everything, you're both such amazing hosts and we will definitely be seeing you next year!
Mark, Michelle & Mia Latham x July 2016

We had a great time at Maison Pyron! Family Vignaux & Family David Ik vond het heel leuk! Groeten Meriam, July 2016

Une maison charmante et confortable (où rien ne manque!), un jardin fabuleux entretenu avec soin, une piscine agréable, quel cocktail délicieux! Merci pour votre accueil chaleureux. Nous avons passé un séjour très agréable à Pyron. 
Famille Bracq, July 2016

Une maison charmante et confortable (où rien ne manque!), un jardin fabuleux entretenu avec soin, une piscine agréable, quel cocktail délicieux! Merci pour votre accueil chaleureux. Nous avons passé un séjour très agréable à Pyron. Merci pour votre accueil et votre présence discrète. Bravo pour votre travail dans l'entretien de cette belle propriété. Peut-être à une prochaine fois d'un séjour en Chalosse...
Famille Bridel et Famille Bracq, July 2016

Thank-you Bea & Derek, a delightful home for a week and such friendly hosts. We enjoyed a day trip to San Sebastian (just under 2 hours) - beware it's a very long hot walk to the top of the castle and statue. Had a very interesting walk in Sainte-Colombe - go up through the village and bear left down the lanes towards the forest - it's another world out there! Neil, Greg & Ana, July 2016

What a wonderful space to spend our family summer break. Everything was perfect from the warm greeting on arrival onwards. There is nothing more we could have asked for. We wold highly recommend spending time at the lake at St Pierre du Mont if you have a young family. It's only 20 minutes away and is just one of the fantastic local facilities. A perfect and immaculate home in a wonderful setting. Thank-you Bea & Derek for a beautiful holiday.
Gareth, Anna & Evan, June 2016

Our family of 4 had a wonderful time spending it here over the Christmas week! All the necessary comforts of home were easily accessible in the Grenier and the kids enjoyed having their own space and the pool / games facilities immensely! Not to mention the speedy wifi! We would love again to visit in the summer and our stay really couldn't have been bettered! The perfect modern idyll to explore the areas and visit family. We will be back!
The Merukh Family from Sydney & Jakarta, December 2015

Kieran & I spent a comfortable, happy time living for six weeks in your lovely house. Exploring the area was a welcome distraction from being closeted away writing my book. Saint Sever & Hagetmau are nice little places to have coffee / drink and people watch. Pau and Mont de Marsan were interesting towns to visit and see the ancient architecture and enjoy views towards the Pyrenees. We loved our 2 day trip to San Sebastian and the coastal villages. Watching the surfers on the gorgeous beaches was spectacular. Visiting Biarritz n the way back was a must - very smart place and super promenade.
Loved our train ride on Le Petit Rhune and the trek back down! Aching calves and knees the next day but well worth it for the amazing views and the whole experience. Brandy & coffees!! Our shared meals were fun and full of laughter so thanks for those. We've had a wonderful sojourn here and intend to return.
Love Venita & Kieran, October 2015

I would like to say a big thank-you for such a warm welcome to us in your lovely home. The house was wonderful and it has such a peaceful atmosphere which allowed you to forget the everyday stresses and relax and unwind. There was everything we needed to make the holiday glide along smoothly and being situated in a great part of France there was so much to offer. The pool barn was a good place to get some shade on warmer days and a ping pong tournament soon began. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring Saint Sever with the aid of the iPad loaned from the tourist information office and at only 5 euros - what a bargain, I would recommend it..!!
Canyoning in the Pyrenees (Laruns) with Laurent from Experience Canyoning ensured we had a fun packed four hours with abseiling, plunge pools and a trip down a water slide made for great memories. Kayaking in Saint Sever (from sports complex) was another good way to spend an afternoon. Cedric and his team made sure we were all well equipped / briefed and we all had great fun. Go karting near Pau was a lovely way to spend an evening followed by a tasty steak dinner at La Boucherie (slightly more upmarket Buffalo Grill) which also has a branch situated in Mont de Marsan, great for children of all ages. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. Once again merci beaucoup Bea & Derek!!
Ann-Marie, Owen & Luke Ingram, September 2015

Thanks for 'hosting' us for these last 2 weeks. Despite the odd rain shower, have had a lovely time, especially the swimming and cycling! Great time at the local fete too! Hope to be back in future.
Stephen, Vikki & the Kelly clan, August 2015

Just one more time to thank you for a lovely holiday. As mentioned on Facebook: great place, great pool, great people! All the best and looking forward to meeting you again! We all take lovely pictures and memories back to Holland.
Manon, Pablo & kids, July 2015

We had a wonderful time! Everything was perfect, our 2 daughters (4 and 8 years old) really loved it, especially the pool and the hammock :)! They definitely want to come back next year! We liked the spacious garden and want to thank you for your hospitality. Good luck.
Marc, Ingrid, Milou & Britt, July 2015

Thank-you for such a lovely week. We've all so enjoyed staying in your lovely home. We've found so much to do in the area, which is stunning. See you again sometime. 
Louise, Shane & family, July 2014

We had a great time at Maison Pyron. We enjoyed playing ping-pong, petanque and last but not least swimming in the pool! We've been visiting some nice places / hiking trips. 
* Les Gorges de Kakuetta, Saint-Engrâce (2 hours driving)
* La Passerelle en bois, Holzarté (2 hours driving)
* Le Seniter du Baigura, D119 between Louhossoa and Hélette (1.5 hours driving)
* Le Sentier du Pasaia and San Seastin (2 hours driving)
We take a lot of nice memories with us!
Wim, Ilse, Arue, Lena & Emma, August 2014

Thank you so much! We've had a great holiday in your lovely big house. A lot of wonderful memories were created: the big beds, the games on the floor, playing hide-and-seek. the good times at the pool... We've loved it all!
Anneleen, Bart, Lieselot and Max, July 2014

Dear Bea & Derek, Thank-you so much for your warm welcome. We have so enjoyed staying in your beautiful home. The driveway provided a perfect location for the annual family Boule Championshps and the kids loved the pool. This is a fabulous house for a large group. Excellent house information manual and everything we needed was here. I'll be leaving a glowing review on Trip Advisor! Many thanks from the Transcontinental Soloman / Ward holiday catchup!
Sarah, Matt, Phoebe & Ruby (Australia), August 2013

Nous avons passé une très bonne semaine dans votre charmante maison. Les filles ont beaucoup apprecié la piscine (et les cailloux!). En esperant vous revoir!
Hélène, Fréderic, Elwyna et Lisenn, August 2013

Thank-you Bea & Derek for allowing us ot stay in your lovely home. We all loved it. Also your kindness on our last evening was wonderful. We really enjoyed your company. Hope you both have a great life here. I am certain that you will. Many thank again from
Joe, Helen, Sharon, Joseph & Travis x (Your first visitors, Scottish of course), July 2013               


See more Guest Reviews on  TripAdvisor